A compact unit, 288 Wh, 600 W (1,200 surge), 11 lb, $349 at EcoFlow, checked Oct 11, 2026 ($1.21 per Wh). By our sizing it holds phones and USB lights, but none of the six uses we size.
From the maker's published figures and our own calculations; we have not tested it ourselves.
288 Wh × 0.85 ÷ device watts. An estimate, not a measured test. Startup and connections need checking.
Drawing · 11.3 × 7.3 × 7.7 in · 11 lb
EcoFlow RIVER (original)$349 at EcoFlow, checked Oct 11, 2026
Capacity288Wh
AC output600W
Surge1,200W
ChemistryLithium-ion (type not stated)
Rated cycles500 to 80%
Weight11lb
Max solar input200W
Price per Wh$1.21
Should you buy it?
Not for:a day of home backup (too little capacity: needs 2,323 Wh and 1,351 W at startup); a night of CPAP (too little capacity: needs 599 Wh and 104 W at startup); two nights of camping (too little capacity: needs 2,066 Wh and 157 W at startup); a day in an RV (too little capacity: needs 648 Wh and 156 W at startup); a working day in a van (too little capacity: needs 1,674 Wh and 189 W at startup); a laptop and two phones (too little capacity: needs 396 Wh and 60 W at startup).
Choose it for 200 W of solar input against 100 W and room for extra batteries: $80 more than the Pecron E500LFP.
Choose the Pecron E500LFP instead if you want the most battery for the money: $0.47 per Wh against $1.21, $80 less, 3 lb heavier; you give up solar input (100 W against 200 W).
About 245 Wh reaches the AC outlets after the 0.85 loss allowance (an estimate, not a measurement). At $1.21 per watt-hour, compare its cost with the charging speed and carry weight you need. It stores 26.2 Wh per pound. We list 28 other models in its size class; the four nearest in capacity are compared below.
What it runs, and for how long
Hours = capacity × 0.85 ÷ device watts, with the draws from the device table.
"Yes" means its continuous output covers the draw and its surge rating covers the startup figure we use, by arithmetic on ratings, not a test. Startup figures: the CPAP with its humidifier, 104 W at startup, from ResMed's peak figure; the refrigerator, 1,300 W startup allowance, from a larger 27 cu ft Whirlpool's tech sheet. Your own appliance's label or manual has its own.
Sockets and size
Three AC outlets, 600 W in total, 1,200 W surge
One USB-C port, up to 100 W from one port
Three USB-A ports
Three 12 V outlets
Top and front, to scale: 11.3 × 7.3 × 7.7 in. Ruler: 12 in. Beside it, a 12 oz can.
How many of each socket and their limits, from the maker's spec sheet; it does not say where each one sits on the unit. It weighs 11 lb.
At a glance
How it compares with the other 28 compact models, on the makers' figures. We don't boil it down to one score; see how we pick.
What decides it, in figures
What it can power
Covers none of the uses we size. Output and surge cover 13 of the 17 devices in our list, on the startup figures we use
Price per Wh
$1.21 per Wh, 25th lowest of 29 compact units
Portability
11 lb, 20th lightest of 28 compact units
Recharge speed
200 W of solar input: at least 1.4 hours of full sun at that limit to refill (an ideal minimum, not clock time); 250 W from the wall
Chemistry and cycle life
Lithium-ion (type not stated), rated 500 cycles to 80%
Before connecting panels, compare your array's cold-morning open-circuit voltage and short-circuit current with this model's solar-input limits in its manual.